Looking at the featured image for this post you would automatically think you’re looking at an ancient civilization from the old world. In fact you would probably even confuse it with an ancient civilization from the old world that you learned about in school. However the truth is you most likely never learned about this place in school or anywhere else for that matter. It’s more than likely a lot of people went their entire life without learning about this place. Why sites like these have so much silence around them is simple, Manifest Destiny. Now I’m not going to get into the definition and meaning of Manifest Destiny but I do encourage you to research it if you do not know what it is. Instead I will try to focus more so on the much older pre-Columbian periods.

While America as we know it, is only 244 years old, there were many great civilizations here long before Christopher Columbus. The featured image above is Mesa Verde National Park in Colorado. Dating as far back as 7500 BC when it was inhabited! That’s a staggering number. 7500 BC! Mesa Verde is the region, which expands 52,485 acres. The massive cliff dwellings you see in the image however were not constructed until the end of the 12th century. This place is old. Very old!

Of course there are quite a few sites like the Mesa Verde Cliff Palace throughout the United States, sites like the Toltec Mounds in Arkansas, to sites like Cahokia, located outside of St. Louis, Missouri. Although I’m quite fascinated with these advanced civilizations, my interests have gravitated to a far older history. A history truly lost in time!

The Cherokee have an oral history they have passed down for many centuries. It is to my understanding that a part of their history speaks of their ancestors who came from a far away land. They called them the sea people. After I read that my mind was instantly connecting dots and going into overdrive. I poured through tons of research and data, scavenging for any clues I could find that could give me a better idea of who these sea people were. I had just laid down, sleepy after catching up on a little reading. I decided to watch a few videos on American Archaeology as I fell asleep. As I was drifting off I heard the words Bat Creek Stone. Thinking nothing of it I decided to roll over and try to fall asleep, saying to myself I’ll look more into this Bat Creek Stone tomorrow. However my eagerness wouldn’t allow me to just go to sleep after hearing about a stone being found with an inscription on it. So, I gave into my strange addiction and got up, got myself a little coffee brewing, and got out my journal.

The Bat Creek Stone

The Bat Creek Stone is by far one of my favorite artifacts! Most people have no idea it even exists. Discovered in 1889 by Cyrus Thomas, he said it was Cherokee writing and I’m pretty sure that’s what it was “declared to be”. But then that’s when Cyrus Gordon the late Semitic languages scholar, confirmed that it is Semitic, and specifically Paleo-Hebrew of approximately the first or second century A.D. He confirmed the five letters to the left of the comma-shaped word divider read, from right to left, LYHWD, or “for Judea.” Also Hebrew scholar and archaeologist Robert Stieglitz confirmed Gordon’s work in 1976. With that being said, the debate is still alive and well!

Now of course you have your skeptics, your unbelievers, or your, “naysayers”, if you will. Everyone has an opinion, and I respect peoples opinions. However I would like to state the fact that the Bat Creek Stone was discovered by the Smithsonian Bureau of Ethnology’s Mound Survey, which was directed by Cyrus Thomas. The Smithsonian had originally put the artifact on display upside down, declaring it to be Cherokee writing. The stone was displayed upside down for 15 or so years. Not once had it ever been called a hoax, that is until it was proven to be ancient Hebrew, then everyone decided to start saying it was a hoax. Incredible! Still, there are many of those who still believe the analysis of Cyrus Gordon. I myself would be one of them!

Scott Wolter- Forensic Geologist

“The bottom line is, the weathering of the inscription is very old”

I know I could never be 100% positive as to whether the Bat Creek Stone is truly genuine or if it is just a hoax. Given the chance to research and read up more on the artifact I truly believe it is genuine. I was even more convinced when I heard about the stone being returned to the Cherokee!

Geannette Austin stated in her article (Are the North Carolina Cherokee Indians Separdic Jews?) “Cherokees have high levels of test markers associated with the Berbers, native Egyptians, Turks, Lebanese, Hebrews and Mesopotamians”. She also mentioned that American settlers claimed to have witnessed, Jewish speaking villages in the northeastern Tennessee and southwestern Virginia region. If this is the case, and if the ancestors the Cherokee they called the sea people were ancient Hebrews, then I could easily see the Bat Creek Stone being a genuine artifact displaying real Hebrew writing. It’s hard for me to tune it out knowing that the Bat Creek Stone isn’t the only artifact displaying Hebrew writings that has been discovered. Artifacts like the Los Lunas Decalogue Stone, and the Newark Holy Stones, which consists of the Keystone, a stone bowl, and the Decalogue with its sandstone box, also have Hebrew inscriptions that really deserves a more honorable approach. These stones too, are widely claimed to be a hoax, as is everything that might suggest Pre-Columbian peoples of America were much more than savages, as the Europeans would have you believe. I personally can not accept the spreading belief that these stones are all a hoax.

The Los Lunas Decalogue Stone

The Key Stone

The Decalogue Stone

The Stone Bowl

These are just a few examples of the many pieces of evidence. Evidence that points to the transoceanic voyages to America made by ancient Hebrews.

The below photo is of an article that covered the Newark Holy Stones. The Decalogue Stone is incredibly interesting to me as it is block Hebrew writing. The translation of the inscriptions reveal the complete 10 Commandments. The block Hebrew inscription above the robed man translates to the name Moses!

If this all is in fact true, then the entire American History would have to be thrown out and rewritten! Of course that is never going to happen no matter how solid the evidence is, sad but true. Regardless the point is this, there were transoceanic travelers that came to America long before Christopher Columbus. It’s a very plausible notion if one was to suggests, that the Cherokee ancestors they called the sea people, were ancient Hebrews that came to America hundreds maybe even thousands of years ago. I’ll never claim to be 100% correct in my studies nor would I ever state something as a fact. This is merely my own personal belief and I leave it up to the reader to do their own research and come to his or her own conclusion. If you take anything from this blog post let it be this: America has had many visitors long before Christopher Columbus, and she belongs to the many different Native tribes that were already here. They were here long ago, they are here now, and they will always be here. The Natives were, are, and always will be, the rightful heirs of America!

4 thoughts on “The Rightful Heirs of America

Leave a comment